Page of 31
Page of 31

County Information


New Haven County does not provide mugshot images.

Some of the cities, towns, and places in New Haven County are Amity, Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, borough, Branford, Branford Center, Brooklyn, Bunker Hill, Cedar Hill, Cheshire, Cheshire Village, City Point, Derby, Devon, Downtown, Downtown Waterbury, East Haven, East Mountain, East Rock, Fair Haven, Fair Haven Heights, Guilford, Guilford Center, Hamden, Heritage Village, Long Wharf, Madison, Madison Center, Meriden, Middlebury, Milford, Mill River, Naugatuck, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Northford, Orange, Oxford, Prospect, Quaker Farms, Quinnipiac Meadows, Seymour, Short Beach, South Britain, Southbury, Stony Creek, Town Plot, Twin Lakes, Union City, Wallingford, Wallingford Center, Waterbury, Waterville, West Haven, Westville, Wolcott, Woodbridge, Woodmont, Wooster Square, Yalesville

New Haven County  Image

New Haven County is a county in the south central part of the U.S. state of Connecticut. As of the 2020 census, the population was 864,835, making it the third-most populous county in Connecticut. Two of the state's top 5 largest cities, New Haven (3rd) and Waterbury (5th), are part of New Haven County. New Haven County is part of the New Haven-Milford, CT Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the New York metropolitan Combined Statistical Area. County governments were abolished in Connecticut in 1960. Thus, as is the case with all eight of Connecticut's counties, there is no county government, and no county seat. Until 1960, the city of New Haven was the county seat. In Connecticut, towns are responsible for all local government activities, including fire and rescue, snow removal and schools. In some cases, neighboring towns will share certain activities, e.g. schools, health, etc. New Haven County is merely a group of towns on a map, and has no specific government authority. The county Sheriff system was abolished by voters and replaced by State Judicial Marshals in 2000. As a result, the state judicial system in New Haven County has three judicial districts: New Haven, Ansonia-Milford, and Waterbury. On June 6, 2022, the U.S. Census Bureau formally recognized Connecticut's nine councils of governments as county equivalents instead of the state's eight counties. Connecticut's eight historical counties continue to exist in name only, and are no longer considered for statistical purposes.