Page of 4
Page of 4

County Information


Tolland County does not provide mugshot images.

Some of the cities, towns, and places in Tolland County are Amston, Andover, Bolton, Columbia, Coventry, Coventry Lake, Crystal Lake, Ellington, Gilead, Hebron, Hebron Center, Hydeville, Mansfield, Mansfield Center, Mashapaug, Rockville, Somers, Somers center, South Coventry, Stafford, Stafford Hollow, Stafford Springs, Storrs, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Willington

Tolland County  Image

Tolland County is a county in the northeastern part of the U.S. state of Connecticut. As of the 2020 census, its population was 149,788. It is incorporated into 13 towns and was originally formed on 13 October 1785 from portions of eastern Hartford County and western Windham County. The county is included in the Hartford-East Hartford-Middletown, CT Metropolitan Statistical Area. Counties in Connecticut have no governmental function; all legal power is vested in the state, city and town governments. The office of High Sheriff in Connecticut counties was officially abolished by ballot in 2000, and corrections and court services were transferred to the state marshals. Tolland County has the same boundaries as the Tolland Judicial District. On June 6, 2022, the U.S. Census Bureau formally recognized Connecticut's nine councils of governments as county equivalents instead of the state's eight counties. Connecticut's county governments were disbanded in 1960, and the councils of governments took over some of the local governmental functions. Connecticut's eight historical counties continue to exist in name only, and are no longer considered for statistical purposes.