County Information

Some of the cities, towns, and places in Sumter County are Cane Savannah, Cherryvale, Dalzell, East Sumter, Horatio, Lakewood, Mayesville, Millwood, Mulberry, Oakland, Oswego, Pinewood, Privateer, Rembert, Shiloh, South Sumter, Stateburg, Sumter, Wedgefield

Sumter County  Image

Sumter County is a county located in the U.S. state of South Carolina. As of the 2010 census, the population was 107,456. In a 2018 census estimate, the population was 106,512. Its county seat is Sumter.Sumter County comprises the Sumter, South Carolina Metropolitan Statistical Area, which, combined with neighboring Lee and Clarendon counties, formed the Sumter-Bishopville-Manning Combined Statistical Area, otherwise known as the "East Midlands" area. It is the home of Shaw AFB, headquarters to the 9th Air Force, AFCENT, United States Army Central, with a number of other tenant units. It is one of largest bases in the USAF's Air Combat Command.