County Information

Some of the cities, towns, and places in Jasper County are Coosawhatchie, Gillisonville, Grahamville, Grays, Hardeeville, Levy, Limehouse, Okatie, Old House, Pineland, Pocotaligo, Point South, Ridgeland, Robertville, Switzerland, Tarboro, Tillman, Wagon Branch

Jasper County  Image

Jasper County is the southernmost county in the U.S. state of South Carolina. As of the 2010 census, the population was 24,777. Its county seat is Ridgeland and its largest city is Hardeeville. The county was formed in 1912 from portions of Hampton County and Beaufort County. Jasper County is included in the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Beaufort, SC Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is located in the Lowcountry region of the state. For several decades, in contrast to neighboring Beaufort County, Jasper was one of the poorest counties in the state. Recent development from 2000 onwards has given the county new residents, expanded business opportunities, and a wealthier tax base. Since 2010, Jasper County is the second-fastest-growing county by population in South Carolina, behind Horry County.