County Information

Some of the cities, towns, and places in Drew County are Bartholomew, Baxter, Bearhouse, Clear Creek, Coleman, Collins, Cominto, Crook, Franklin, Jerome, Lacey, Live Oak, Marion, Monticello, Montongo, Saline, Selma, Spring Hill, Tennessee, Tillar, Veasey, Wilmar, Winchester

Drew County  Image

Drew County is a county located in the southeast region of the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 18,509, making it the 39th most populous of Arkansas's 75 counties. The county seat and largest city is Monticello. Drew County was formed on November 26, 1846, and named for Thomas Drew, the third governor of Arkansas. Located on the edge of the Arkansas Timberlands and the Arkansas Delta, its fertile soils produced prosperity for early settlers in the antebellum era. Cotton was the major commodity crop, but corn, apples, peaches and tomatoes were also grown. Following the Civil War, the boundaries of Drew County changed. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, timber harvesting became an important industry. As a variety of industries began to move to the county, several colleges were founded in the county in the early part of the 20th century, one developing as University of Arkansas at Monticello. Today, the county has a diverse economy and is an economic center in southeast Arkansas.