County Information

Some of the cities, towns, and places in Van Buren County are Alread, Archey Valley, Austin, Bee Branch, Botkinburg, Chimes, Choctaw, Choctaw Pines, Claude, Clinton, Copeland, Crabtree, Culpepper, Dabney, Damascus, Dennard, Eglantine, Elba, Fairbanks, Fairfield Bay, Formosa, Gravel Hill, Gravesville, Green Tree, Half Moon, Morganton, Old Botkinburg, Palisades, Pee Dee, Plant, Pleasant Grove, Rabbit Ridge, Rex, Rocky Hill, Rumley, Rupert, Scotland, Shirley, Southside, Stumptoe, Sulphur Springs, Walnut Grove, Whipple, Woodlum, Zion Hill

Van Buren County  Image

Van Buren County is a county located in the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 17,295. The county seat is Clinton. The county was formed on November 11, 1833, and named for Martin Van Buren, President of the United States, who was Vice President at the time of the county's formation. It is an alcohol prohibition or dry county. Van Buren County should not be confused with the city of Van Buren, which is located approximately 100 miles to the west in Crawford County just north of Fort Smith.