Page of 23
Page of 23

County Information


Phelps County does not provide specific charge data for individual bookings.

Some of the cities, towns, and places in Phelps County are Arlington, Beulah, Blooming Rose, Clementine, Clinton, Craddock, Dillon, Doolittle, Duke, Edgar Springs, Elk Prairie, Flag Spring, Flat, Jerome, Newburg, Northwye, Powellville, Rolla, Rosati, Royal, Seaton, St. James, Table Rock, Vida, Winkler, Yancy Mills

Phelps County  Image

Phelps County is a county in the central portion of the U.S. state of Missouri. As of the 2020 United States Census, the population was 44,638. The largest city and county seat is Rolla. The county was organized on November 13, 1857, and was named for U.S. Representative and Governor of Missouri John Smith Phelps. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the mean center of U.S. population in 2000 fell within Phelps County.Phelps County comprises the Rolla, Missouri Micropolitan Statistical Area. Much of the county is included within the Ozark Highlands American Viticultural Area (AVA). Vineyards and wineries were first established in the county by Italian immigrants in Rolla. Since the 1960s, winemakers have revived and created numerous vineyards in Missouri and won national and international tasting awards. The first Phelps County Court convened on November 25, 1857, in the John Dillon cabin. The historic courthouse was begun in mid-summer of 1860, used as a Union hospital during the American Civil War and served as the courthouse until February 1994, when all county offices were relocated into the new Phelps County Courthouse, which was dedicated on 22 May.